World Cup Winners List: From 1930 to 2022

The comprehensive record of the nations that have secured victory in the FIFA World Cup can be found in the World Cup Winners List.

World Cup Winners List

Argentina’s victory in the 2022 World Cup in Qatar marked their third triumph in the tournament, following their previous wins in 1978 and 1986. Lionel Messi, who has been widely regarded as one of the greatest football players of all time, played a pivotal role in Argentina’s success, both in the final and throughout the tournament.

FIFA World Cup Winners List

The table shows all the winners list of the FIFA World Cup, the most prestigious soccer tournament in the world, from its inception in 1930 up to the most recent tournament held in 2022.

YearHost CountryWinnerRunner-UpFinal Score
2022QatarArgentinaFrance3-3 (4-2 pen)
2014BrazilGermanyArgentina1-0 (aet)
2010South AfricaSpainNetherlands1-0 (aet)
2006GermanyItalyFrance1-1 (5-3 pen)
2002South Korea & JapanBrazilGermany2-0
1994United StatesBrazilItaly0-0 (3-2 pen)
1990ItalyWest GermanyArgentina1-0
1986MexicoArgentinaWest Germany3-2
1982SpainItalyWest Germany3-1
1978ArgentinaArgentinaNetherlands3-1 (aet)
1974West GermanyWest GermanyNetherlands2-1
1966EnglandEnglandWest Germany4-2 (aet)
1954SwitzerlandWest GermanyHungary3-2
1934ItalyItalyCzechoslovakia2-1 (aet)

Countries with the Most FIFA World Cup Wins

Brazil is the most successful nation in the history of the FIFA World Cup, having won the tournament five times. Germany and Italy share second place with four titles each, while Argentina has won the tournament three times.

One of the most significant records in the history of the World Cup is the number of times Brazil has won the tournament, which stands at a staggering five times. The table shows that Brazil won the World Cup in 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, and 2002. Brazil is followed closely by Germany and Italy, who have each won the tournament four times.

Another interesting fact is that the host country has won the tournament a total of six times. These countries include Uruguay in 1930, Italy in 1934, England in 1966, West Germany in 1974, Argentina in 1978, and France in 1998.

CountryNumber of WinsYears Won
Brazil51958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002
Germany41954, 1974, 1990, 2014
Italy41934, 1938, 1982, 2006
Argentina31978, 1986, 2022
Uruguay21930, 1950
France21998, 2018

Top Scorers in FIFA World Cup History

This table displays the top goal scorers in the history of the FIFA World Cup, featuring some of the greatest football players to have ever graced the tournament. From the legendary Brazilian striker Pele, who scored 12 goals across four World Cup tournaments, to Germany’s Miroslav Klose, who holds the record for the most goals scored in the tournament with 16, these players have left an indelible mark on the history of football.

Miroslav KloseGermany16
Gerd MullerGermany14
Just FontaineFrance13
Lionel MessiArgentina13
Kylian MbappéFrance12
Sandor KocsisHungary11
Jurgen KlinsmannGermany11

The FIFA World Cup is a hugely important event in international football, featuring some of the best teams and players in the world. The tournament has produced many unforgettable moments and is widely regarded as the pinnacle of the sport.

Watch the latest soccer highlights and football goals videos online from all the world major leagues.


Latest Highlights

Upcoming Matches